The hand trick…

This is my take-everywhere solution to lighting. The palm of my hand. Generally I don’t even bother to do this cause I can just look and figure out the lighting…but sometimes I find myself standing in the middle of a crowd and holding my hand up and spinning. If you watch the attached video you can see the two general areas the light looks good: when it is hitting the face of the subject/palm and when the subject/palm is backlit. Have fun and don’t worry if folks think you’re crazy when you do this. You are, but for a good cause.

8 thoughts on “The hand trick…

  1. Hi Cyndy,
    I wanted to thank you for this post. I use it every semester with my Broadcast students at Towson University in Towson, Maryland. They come to me with very limited shooting skills and this hand test always gives them an “aha” moment.
    Keep up the good work.🙂
    Jenny Atwater

Leave a Reply

