Absailing off Kangaroo Point…

Cyndy Brisbane Skyline

Here’s the story from last night on Kangaroo Point…a group of rockclimbers – called absailers here in Australia..with a grand view of the city. that is the only shot I didn’t put into the story (yeah…I know, and I may re-edit with that shot). Reflection and hindsight are what make you better (or make you berate yourself). So on to the story and how it went together.

As I shot last night I was “trying on” several styles of storytelling, but knowing I would be depending on the natsound to make it move. When I sat down this morning the first thing I did was go online and checked out different online sources to get more information on the history of Kangaroo Point and rock climbing. I didn’t want this to be presented from an expert’s view, but rather a fun look at an unexpected sight.

Technical: Shot using my Exilim Z75. No tripod. Light from the floodlights that illuminate the cliffs. Edited using iMovie. Shooting time – half an hour. Logging time – 20 minutes. Writing – 15 minutes. Editing – About an hour

Below is the logging sheet. As usual I asked for names but was surprised when I found that what I thought was “Beth” was actually “Bex” …. Always double check those spellings.

1437 Let’s go in!
1442 Interview with Bex Ball/Columbia Sports Wear of Brisbane
Rock climbing up this climb
You just come along, bring your own rope and have a go
Q: anyone can do this? A: yeah yep Q: That is frightening. I could do this? A: Yeah Q: That is frightening
He’s been climbing for just under a year I think (Note: he told me he’d only been climbing a few months) and maybe four to six years for myself
Climbed mainly just locally/mentions a few places
Yeah…absolutely you’ve got the nursery cliffs down the bottom I use for little kids and stuff they can go climbing all the way up to the big cliffs at the other end, which are quite steep and take a lot of skill.
1446 Group tries to toss something to hanging climber/miss and the she gets it
– crowds says awww and then yeah
1449 That’s it…push up…good work
1450 Nice one James
1451 Use your legs
1454 Only one really easy way and that’s to follow the crack up. He’s done it a couple of times
1455 (Instructor to climber) OK – you pretty sure? A: Yeah (as she hangs there)
1456 That’s it James (pan from Bex to James)
1464 Nice work James
1465 You going good? (instructor to another climber)
1469 Bex wipes her forehead
1470 Q: It’s going to be tricky A: Yeah quite flat…..you’re right James back in your harness
1471 Interview w/James Rae
Q: Oh my gosh that looks hard A: Yeah, it’s hot work. I’h exhausted
Q: What is the best part of the climb A: I don’t know about halfway up or maybe just getting to the top Q: That’s the best thing? A: Yeah probably. Coming back down is actually the funnest bit.

A good video story needs a strong start and a strong conclusion. In looking at the audio on the clips I already see my ending shot…when James comes down the cliff. So here goes…I will put this together roughly on paper and then edit and post. I use a script as a starting point many times…because as I edit other possibilities present themselves…and I like to have the freedom to follow the flow of the story rather than boxing myself in.

Script
Nats – (Hanging climber trying to catch object) Awww…Yeah!
Narration – An unexpected sight on Brisbane’s riverfront…dozens of folks hanging from ropes in the spotlights along the cliffs of Kangaroo Point.
Nats – Let’s go in!
Narration – Everyone from total novices who’ve never broken a nail scrambling up the rocks…to middling and expert climbers.
Interview Bex Ball – You’ve got the nursery cliffs down the bottom I use for little kids and stuff they can go climbing all the way up to the big cliffs at the other end, which are quite steep and take a lot of skill.
Narration – Bex Ball works for Columbia Sportswear in Brisbane. She’s been rock climbing for five or six years. Her co-worker and partner tonight, James Rae, has only been at it a few months.
Bex – Only one really easy way and that’s to follow the crack up. He’s done it a couple of times
Nats – That’s it James (pan from Bex to James/cut to Bex wiping her forehead)
Narration – It takes James more than fifteen minutes to ascend the cliff, with some tough spots along the way. What seems to be a shelf from where we stand is actually a steep angle.
Nats – Use your legs
Narration – But after much stretching and pushing…
Nats – That’s it…push up…good work
Narration – He reaches the top and the hard part is over.
Nats – James coming down and final section of interview
James Rae interview – Q: Oh my gosh that looks hard
A: Yeah, it’s hot work. I’h exhausted
Q: What is the best part of the climb
A: I don’t know about halfway up or maybe just getting to the top
Q: That’s the best thing?
A: Yeah probably. Coming back down is actually the funnest bit.

I did add a line at the end about absailing…which is what Aussies call the descent (in the US it’s called repelling). A nice bread and butter story.

One thought on “Absailing off Kangaroo Point…

Leave a Reply

