Bittersweet anniversary…

Cyndy, Lexi, Ron, Pearl

One year ago today I attended a Memorial Day ceremony in Stockton sans husband. Ron was in a coma as a result of an accident.

Today I attended a Memorial Day ceremony in Lodi where he was one of the keynote speakers. He continues his service to veterans as the San Joaquin County Veterans Service Officer.

In attendance also were our two youngest daughters. Alexis, who clung to her father where ever he went today. Today is her sixteenth birthday. Pearl, who will be sworn into the Navy in two days.

I didn’t cry…if I had, it would have been for joy.

Some details for those of you expecting a lesson:
We arrived half an hour before the 9am start and I peeled off ten minutes of flags and folks arriving.
This particular ceremony had a small town feel to it.
Got the ceremony and a bit of the aftermath.
Didn’t use a script…took about 90 minutes to edit….one speaker (Congressman McNerney) not used due to bad audio. The speaker system kept going out during his speech.
No, I didn’t do any interviews…today was my day with family. Problem is I cannot sit during ceremonies, so I wandered as usual. Ron is used to this. After 35 years he’d better be.

One thought on “Bittersweet anniversary…

  1. I remember when that happened and you made a post about it.

    I’m so happy to hear that your husband has recovered and you’re well on the road back to normalcy!

Leave a Reply

