Another man down…(damn those hackers)…

First it was Multimedia Shooter. Now it’s Howard Owens. Do you get the feeling the Luddites are winning?

All spammers deserve whatever karma-evil might befall them in this life or the next, and forever and ever. Sorry howardowens.com has been non-functional for so long. For the third or fourth time, the site was hacked (gotta love that WordPress leaky-hole philosophy of security). I tried to upgrade to fix that hack, but that just made the site non-functional. I knew it would be a hassle to fix, and I’ve been mighty damn busy, so I let things slide. Tonight, I tried to fix things, and then reinitiate the upgrade … same problems arose. So, I’ve completely obliterated my WP PHP files (database is backed up, so I’m not toooo worried about losing old posts (but will feel much better once I see them live again). But I think the only way out of this mess is to do a clean install of WP (I would love to convert to the more secure Drupal, but haven’t the time or sufficient expertise to take that on right now). I’ve been at this mess for a couple of hours tonight. It’s bed time … hopefully, nothing will interfere with my ability to try again to fix things tomorrow night. Howard Owens on June 3, 2008 at 11:33 p.m. EDT.

Leave a Reply

