Papers all graded and I still have a job…

Below is the Mamie Starr Performing Arts Center at Ronald E. McNair High School. Quite a mouthful, I know. My home is hidden in the rear of the building…formally titled the “Green Room,” which is ironic since of course that’s my last name…it is actually the TV studio.

McNair Theater

The grading was the hard part. Thirty finals on “The Pearl” (taken a month ago and I just couldn’t get into them for some reason) and twenty freshmen research papers. Then later this week it will be thirty finals on “House on Mango Street” and twenty freshman district assessments. The latter will be a snap to grade – run through the scanner and done!

Oh – and ten advanced broadcasting videos. If any of them is smart enough to check out my blog, they’ll get advance warning here. A storyboard for a thirty second video which they must shoot (keeping in mind lessons they had on manual camera controls, lighting, and composition) and edit.

Still having a job is bittersweet. Apparently the district handed out the pink slips a week ahead of the deadline this past Friday and either they couldn’t find me or I’m not getting one. Most likely the latter.

The bitter part is how many folks DID get pink slips. In excess of 200 teachers plus additional cuts in other fields. Just in my district.

Of course – take nothing for granted. It ain’t over until the legal deadline, which is March 15. After that I breathe easy….

2 thoughts on “Papers all graded and I still have a job…

  1. My wife loves that story – The House on Mango St. – she is also an English teacher. I got a contract renewal form this week. It feels good to have a job in this economy.

  2. It is a wonderful story – I use it in my English 9 Support (English language learners) class and they love it too. Right now their favorite chapter is “Those Who Don’t.”
    And yeah…knowing we have income for another year (fingers crossed) is nice…

Leave a Reply

