Editing the show…

This is the third in a series on getting a high school TV studio up and running for a daily program (in our case at McNair High School, it’s the Daily Bulletin).

If you have it all together, you may get your show together in one take – meaning you roll the open, cut between anchors, roll other tape segments and supers and close, committing all to tape in one take.

If you’re like me and still trying to work the crew up to the reality of the one-take show, you’ll need to add elements with editing.

And being as I’m in cash-starved California, iMovie and Macs are our game plan for the foreseeable future.

Now iMovie is an okay program – in fact for apps like a simple show, it is perfect. No tiny edits…just add in elements. Since we do NOT have enough computers, I allow students to use my personal laptop with supplemental hard drive…but 99% of the time we are out of time once the show is taped, so I’m on my own at home putting in the finishing touches.

To break the monotony of the very recognizable templates of iMovie, I got some plug-ins through a company called GeeThree. They make plug-ins for transitions, titles, FX for iMovie, called Slick.

The Slick packages are all different…but the one I found works best for my purposes is the Filmmaker Kit. It has a combination of FX from a variety of the packages and I’m not sure if they even sell it anymore…but is based on volumes four and five.

What I found most useful: in titling I use Sidebar (allows video to run with credits on the side), Place Text (can put your text anywhere on the screen), Pic-In-Pic (run video in a small box over a full-screen video), and VidMix (in effect greenscreen, but you can key on any color, not just green). Three are also countdowns aka academy leaders and the ability to do some audio tuning.

But even without plug-ins, iMovie (or MovieMaker) can do a commendable basic job. In fact during my final year as a TV news photog I ran daily news stories through iMovie and microwaved to the main station – the stories made air and also made all of the main office photogs jealous cause I could do more in the way of transitions/effects than they could with their plain ole linear systems.

Leave a Reply

