Looking it up…

As usual I was looking words up in my Random House Dictionary (unabridged, 1966) when I realized that the book was forty-four years old and might not contain certain everyday words from the current year…such as “google” (the noun or the verb).

Took a peek – and yeah – no “internet.” A “computer” was a mechanical machine used for calculating payroll. Forget “USB” or “hard drive.”

But the words I want to spell correctly and use with discrimination are in there. Acumen was my target at the time (keen and pentrating insight) and I found it. Sometimes a generic word just won’t do – I like to search for the fine shades of difference between words and find the exact match for my meaning. So – no, I really don’t need a new dictionary. The really good words are the timeless ones.

Leave a Reply

