Bringing the past into the present…

The problem with getting old is stuff – waayyyy too much stuff. Bookshelves full of tapes…boxes full of tapes and film (yeah, believe it). A case or two of LPs. Audio tapes.

So now I’m organizing said stuff. But first, have to do the tech bit and build an easy way to convert it all to digital. I’m talking BetaMax, VHS, VHS-C, pro Beta, DVC-Pro, 3/4 inch plus the film (8mm, 16mm) and audio (cassettes) and LP (vinyl records). Fortunately I’ve misplaced the 2″ reel to reel or I’d have a real problem.

Picked up a 19inch rolling rack off ebay from a retired and retiring producer. Got the shelving, a monitor and router…DAC coming in the mail soon. And today the diagram…the master plan for how to hook it all up. See above.

Why all go to all the trouble? For years whenever I wanted to dub something I’d have to drag out the playback system, wire it up, hook it up and do the dub. Then (of course) whatever I wanted to do next was a different format.

Some of you youngsters may be laughing behind your hands…but beware. In YOUR lifetime, things are gonna change. Since 2000 we’ve gone from CD to thumb drives to SD cards and DVDs and mini-dv tape and hard drive cameras…and it hasn’t slowed down yet. Always have a plan…if you want to save your stuff.

3 thoughts on “Bringing the past into the present…

  1. Them youngsters might not have their archives in a few years thanks to everything being digital and in many cases being archived to DVDs (disk rot anyone?)

  2. Love it – may I send you my 3/4 tapes when I unearth them from the remodel storage? There are some stories on those piece of oxide that I’d love to have.🙂

  3. @ Peg & Amanda:
    Aha! Finally found the bait to get some visitors…(mulling it over)…hmm, maybe requiring personal delivery? Just let me know – it’s gonna take me a year to get mine done, but don’t mind either of your company. NOTE: this is NOT an invitation to the world to come on by or send me tapes.

Leave a Reply

