I remember when…

…blogging was a conversation. A posting went up and comments came in. Nowadays it seems more like I’m posting to a frozen wall of ice in the middle of nowhere. I know I get visitors, but either they aren’t interested in a conversation, they don’t know what to say, or they’re intimidated…or something else.

I know I have readers…my numbers keep going up…up…up. But it’s lonely in here.

Hey there. Yeah – YOU.
I am user friendly and I love finding out what you’re thinking.
The blogosphere (thanks Mr. Pittman I think) is not a vacuum.

So next time you drop by, sit and chat a bit. It’s the neighborly thing to do.

9 thoughts on “I remember when…

  1. Yea, ever get the feeling you are talking to a wall and wonder why you are even bothering writing blog posts. On a very rare occasion I’ll get a conversation started on my history blog, but much of the time, just silence.

  2. Maybe it’s just a case of more. More people busy with social media sites (Facebook), more sites being created every day, and, possibly more interestingly, more people spending their time on posting their own information rather than reading the info of others. I think Pew did something on this (http://pewresearch.org/pubs/?Year=2010). Then again, you said your numbers are going up, so you would think that would mean more comments, but I guess it just means more readers, not more talkers.

    It seems I see more comments happen on my Facebook fan page stream of automatically generated links to my blog entries than I do on flyingflashlight.com. Is that because when you comment on Facebook, it becomes some kind of expression of your personality that others in your important networks can immediately be aware of (and reward with comments responding to your comments)? In either case, the number of comments is laughably few. A post really has to trigger something significant to generate responses. Maybe everyone is just worn out.

  3. I think it may be the nature of the site…not posting anything radical. It’s more of an educational site and my best guess is that it’s folks who want to learn or teachers picking up stuff for the classroom. Do wish they’d say hi though. Gets kinda lonely in here (I LOVE to meet new people.)

  4. It could also be the nature of RSS readers. I know that i don’t comment on many blogs, but I read a lot. I use google reader and it means actually clicking on the post and then signing in, etc. to actually comment. In other words, I only do it if I really, really want to say something. Otherwise it’s too much trouble. Facebook/Twitter are designed for interaction – super easy = more commenting.

  5. Hey, at least you get visitors though, even if they don’t comment. That history leaning site I run has an average weekly audience of 15 unique readers including those who subscribe by RSS (and you wonder why I procrastinate on that book….lack of an audience to make it worthwhile)

Leave a Reply

