How far should loyalty go?

To say I am a rabid Apple freak would be an understatement. My first computer (1981) was an Apple IIe…followed by a Performa, then an iMac (tear-drop), another iMac (monopod), and Macbook. And while I’m a Mac freak, I generally run my computers until the times force me to move on to a faster, sleeker, more current machine.

My love of Macs has only been rivaled by my love of Apple’s software. The OS has generally be easy to work with (one painful period during the forced switch from Classic to OS X). The video editing software – my personal weakness – is what kept me a firm supporter of the company. iMovie, Final Cut Express, Final Cut Pro. The latter always a bit out of my reach as a high school teacher (with teeth – also a three decade survivor of TV news).

You know where this is going.

My dream of a post-retirement gig has always included a good solid camera with professional controls AND a computer that could go anywhere with me with all of the features and software necessary to field produce anything from a youtube video to full production of a movie.

Until this week, that would have been a Macbook Pro and Final Cut Studio with the latest, best version of Final Cut Pro.

Last week’s unveiling of Final Cut X didn’t faze me…initially. I figured I could do as Apple recommended and run both the old FCP and new version on my screaming new Macbook Pro. But two things happened. Apple PULLED all on-shelf copies of FCS 3…effectively eliminating any possible purchase of a new copy. Then the bidding on auction sites went from three or four hundred to double that and more for used versions…even academic versions.

That’s when I began to reconsider my loyalties.

And that is why I found myself an hour ago researching Windows based laptops and appealing to friends for recommendations for a new (non-Apple) laptop that would allow me to take advantage of some pretty good discounts being offered by AVID and Adobe.

I’m not sure where this is heading…perhaps my heart will rule and I’ll remain an Apple supporter…or my head and pocketbook will turn me to what I’ve always jokingly called “the dark side.”

I do know, having used FCP, that it IS the software I want. But I don’t necessarily want to support an orphan. I want to know where Apple is going with Final Cut X – so I can make my decision easily. In lieu of that…perhaps a late life shake-up is in order.

One thought on “How far should loyalty go?

  1. An easy read from Walter Biscardi’s blog at http://www.biscardicreative.com/blog/ should give you a sense of what to do. He started blogging about moving to Adobe and he has found that opening FCP XML project files was a no brainer. You can map your keyboard to match FCP in Premiere Pro as well. With Adobe, you have tools that in many instances exceeds what FCP provided (integration with After Effects, Photoshop and now Audition is the winning combination).

    I moved to Premiere Pro CS5 in December 2010. I haven’t looked back.

Leave a Reply

